How does child support work in Florida?
Florida uses the income shares model to determine child support payments.
Under this model, the state will consider both parents' gross monthly income from various sources including salary, disability benefits, worker’s compensation, and more.
It will also consider relevant factors including the needs of the child(ren), their age(s), special needs, and their standard of living.
How do I file for child support in Florida?
If you choose to apply for support through the FPRV, from the application date to the date you actually receive the benefit, it can take from 1 year to 2 years.
This is why it’s recommended to apply for child support privately with an experienced attorney, because then the time to receive your first payment is from 1 to 2 months.
How is child support calculated in a divorce?
The guidelines schedule calculates the combined net income of both parents estimated to have been allocated to each child, were the parents and children living in an intact household.
Each parent’s basic child support obligation is calculated by adding both parents’ respective monthly net incomes, and looking to the appropriate figure in the guideline tables set forth in the statute. The total obligation is then divided between the parents based on the percentage share of each parent’s total monthly net income.
A parent’s share may then be adjusted on the basis of certain costs, including child health insurance costs and out-of pocket child care or day care costs.
Generally child support is paid to the parent with whom the child spends the majority of overnights. The actual child support amount you pay or receive will be determined by a family law court.